IFAJ Star Prize for Print

The International Federation of Agricultural Journalists (IFAJ) invites member countries to participate in the IFAJ Star Prize for Agricultural Journalism (Print). The award recognizes the best agricultural writing of the year among journalists in IFAJ member countries.

Who can enter

Agricultural journalism guilds from member countries in good standing in IFAJ are welcome to enter stories from their members.

One entry per member country is allowed.

Member countries will create their own criteria for their entry

Entry fee

There is no entry fee



To be eligible for entry, the article must:

Be a story with broad agricultural interest.

Be written by an individual or a team.

Have been published between January 1, 2013, and December 31, 2013, in a print publication or online.

Be written in English, German or French. Articles published in a language other than these three languages must translated into one of these three languages.

Be a single story. Multiple articles that make up a series are not allowed. In such a situation, select one article from the series to enter.
Submission procedure

The text of the article in English, German or French must be submitted electronically as an attachment to an e-mail file and sent to starprize(at)ifaj.org by the deadline.

The following information must be provided in the e-mail to which the article is attached:

A. Name, address, e-mail address and telephone number of the entrant.

B. The name of the publication or Web site where the article was published, along with the date and issue of the publication.

If the article was published in a language other than the official languages of IFAJ (English, German or French), the entry must be accompanied by the complete translation. IFAJ offers member countries assistance of up to 100 Euro each, to cover translation costs for prospective entries not in an official language.

Entry deadline

May 1, 2014


Judging criteria

Writing will be judged on the following:

Style 25%

Content 50%

Objectivity/Balance 25%

The layout and design of the article will not be considered in the judging.



The first prize winner will be awarded a trophy, a gold IFAJ pin, a certificate and a 1,000 Euro cash prize.

The second place winner will be awarded a gold IFAJ pin, a certificate and a 500 Euro cash prize

The award winners will be presented during the IFAJ congress in Scotland, September 2014


For more information:

Riitta Mustonen
Secretary General, International Federation of Agricultural Journalists
Maaseudun Tulevaisuus/Kantri
00101 Helsinki

E-mail: riitta.mustonen@mt1.fi

Phone: +358 40 7070522